Member Sign In | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Join
News & Press: What's New

HB 169 Update

Friday, July 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

 Momentum on HB 169 to Continue in Next General Assembly

One of the primary sponsors of HB 169, Representative Tim Brown (R-3), recently announced his resignation from the Ohio House of Representatives after the legislature adjourned for summer recess. Due to the anticipated legislative schedule for the remainder of 2016, HB 169 is not expected to move through the legislative process when the legislature reconvenes in the fall. State Representative Bill Reineke (R-88), the second primary sponsor of HB 169, remains committed to the legislation and is eager to reintroduce the bill early in the next General Assembly. OPTA has worked diligently on behalf of its members to make significant progress on HB 169 during the committee process, and will continue to actively advocate for meaningful practice act modifications aimed to advance the profession early in 2017. 


YOU CAN HELP! OPTA members are encouraged to remain active and advocate for the practice act modifications included in HB 169 during the off months. Below is a list of the targeted *Ohio House of Representative races that are the focus of campaign teams statewide, including parades and door-to-door efforts. Volunteering your time is a great way to get to know both the new candidates and the incumbent members. As always, you want to be the “go to” expert for physical therapy information! 

*Italics indicate the incumbent for the seat. In (parenthesis) is the county the seat represents.

Ohio House of Representatives | Targeted Races


House District 3 (Wood)

R- open (Previously Tim Brown) D- David Walters


House District 5 (Columbiana)

R-Tim GinterD- John Dyce


House District 6 (Cuyahoga- part)

R-Marlene AnielskiD- Phillip Robinson


House District 7 (Cuyahoga- part)

R- Tom PattonD- David Thurau


House District 16 (Cuyahoga- part)

R- Dave GreenspanD- Tommy Greene


House District 17 (Franklin- part)

R- John RushD- Adam Miller


House District 20 (Franklin- part)

R- Lisa SchachtD-Heather Bishoff


House District 28 (Hamilton- part)

R-Johnathon DeverD- Jessica Miranda


House District 36 (Summit- part)

R-Anthony DeVitisD- Bobby McDowall

House District 37 (Summit- part)

R-Kristina RoegnerD- Tom Schmida


House District 38 (Part of Summit and Stark)

R-Marilyn SlabyD- Judith Lynn Lee


House District 43 (Montgomery- part)

R-Jeff RezabekD- David Sparks


House District 47 (Part of Lucas and Fulton)

R- Derek MerrinD- Michael Sarantou


House District 55 (Lorain- part)

R-Nathan ManningD- Kevin Watkinson


House District 57 (Part of Huron and Lorain)

R- Dick SteinD- Tom Dunlap


House District 79 (Clark- part)

R-Kyle KoehlerD- Alex Wendt


House District 89 (Erie and Ottawa)

R-Steven ArndtD- Lawrence Hartlaub


House District 94 (Meigs and part of Vinton, Athens, and Washington)

R- Jay EdwardsD- Sarah Grace


House District 95 (Carroll, Harrison, Noble, and part of Washington and Belmont)

R-Andy ThompsonD- Ginny Fevede

Contact Us

©2015 Ohio Physical Therapy
Association (OPTA)
1085 Beecher Crossing North,
Suite B - Gahanna, OH 43230
Tel: (614) 855-4109
Fax: (614) 855-5914
OPTA Email:
CE Apps: